About IIHP


IIHP was first formalized in the name of all India institute of Homoeopaths in 1944 by a team of dedicated stalwarts such as Dr. M. Gururaju, Dr. A. N. Mukharjee, Dr. Diwan Jaichand, Dr. Daya Shankar, Dr. J. P. Srivasthava, Dr. S. P. Asthana and Dr. K. G. Saxena as the Founder Secretary General.


Padmasri Dr. K. G. Saxena was chief instrumental in the recognition and development of Homoeopathy in India. He burnt his life as a candle to shine forth the bright light to Homoeopathy and qualified Homoeopathic brethren in particular, by sacrificing all his time, money and energy. We owe him a great deal for having initiated the institute, for having made the government to form the famous joint parliamentary committee in 1949 with scientists from different disciplines. This committee in turn gave a favorable report and the government finally recognized the system of Homoeopathy as a scientific one. His other achievements in the name of the Institute include formation of Ad-hoc committee, family planning committee etc. initiation of Central Council of Homoeopathy, Central Council for Research in Homoeopathy, National Institute of Homoeopathy, Drug standardization Unit at Gaziabad, and institution of various CGHS Homoeopathic Dispensaries. In turn various state governments recognized Homoeopathy and started Homoeopathic Medical Colleges and Hospital as well.


Need for institutionally qualified doctors organisation:
Due to popularity of Homoeopathy in india many bogus institutions were started & bogus Homoeopathic degrees were bought & sold as a result Homoeopathy began to be looked down upon as something humbug & deceitfull. This was the situation which prompted a group of institutionally trained Homoeopaths to make efforts for the government recognition of Homoeopathy. Informal talk and meetings were continued with the government officials concerned in the centre regarding Homoeopathy, but much progress could not be made at the juncture.The All India Institute of Homoeopathy was formed in 1944, which later renamed as Indian Institute of Homoeopathic Physicians. This is the foundation of Indian Institute of Homoeopathic Physicians. Indian Institute of Homoeopathic Physicians was founded in 1944 by a team of dedicated stalwarts such as Dr. M. Gururaju, Dr. A. N. Mukharjee, Dr. Diwan Jaichand, Dr. Daya Shankar, Dr. J. P. Srivasthava, Dr. S. P. Asthana and Dr. K. G. Saxena as the Founder Secretary General.

1. First representation of Institute on 15th Aug. 1947 for recognition of Homoeopathy.2. Govt. Appointed Homoeopathy inquiry committee with representation of members from Institution in 1948.3. Recommendations of Committee (1949)
a. Recgonition of Scientificity of Homoeopathic system of medicine.
b. Formation of Central Council of Homoeopathy4. Institute was responsible for constitution of the first Adhoc Committee in 19525. Appointment of Homeo advisory committee(1954)6. Founder Secretary of Institute Dr. K. G. Saxena was appointed as the first Homoeopathic advisor to the Govt. of India in 1962.7. Moved bill for Homoeopathy for regulation of Homoeopathic Education, Examinations, Qualification and practice in 1972.8. Setting up of Homoeopathic Pharmacopoeia Committee in 1962 with Dr. K. G. Saxena as member secretary.9. Institute was responsible for formation of

a. Research Committee.
b. Rural Homoeopathic Medical Aid Committee.
c. Drug Technical Advisory Board
d. Family Planning Committee
e. Finance Committee

10. Institute has taken efforts for establishment of

a. Central Council of Homoeopathy
b. Central Research Council
c. National Institute of Homoeopathy
d. Central Drug Laboratory

11. Institute has recommended Govt. of India and Central Council of Homoeopathy for introduction of Post Graduate courses and graded degree courses in Homoeopathy.

12. Institute has prevailed upon State Government to appoint Homoeopaths as Medical Officers in every PHC and to a certain extent achieved success.

13. Institute has persuaded Govt. to involve Homoeopaths in National Health Programme.

14. Through the efforts of Institute member Dr. Diwan Harish Chand who became president of Liga Medicarum Homoeopathica Internationals (LIGA). The Indian Homoeopathic practitioner now enjoy a high repute in the international field through membership of LIGA.


One thought on “About IIHP

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s